Favourite Characters

My list is made up of  cartoon characters that have travelled with me at some point of time in my life.

Bender, Leela, Stewie, the Broomsticks from Disney’s Fantasia, and the Flying monkeys from the Wizard of Oz

220px-Bender_Rodriguez

Bender Bending Rodríguez (designated in-universe as Bending Unit 22,  is one of the  main character’s in the animated television series Futurama. He was created by series creators Matt Groenig and David Cohen and is voiced by John Demaggio. He fulfills a comic, anti hero-type role in Futurama and is described by fellow character Leela as an alcholic whore-mongering, chain-smoking gambler”. I lke bender for his character he is a bad robot and polictally incorrect at every opportunity.
Looking at bender with  a design lens I guess the first things I notice is that he has great props, a bottle of beer and and a cigar, that informs us that he has character.
They have used a simple colour pallette, well when I say simple I mean there is not too much colour variation going on, he looks like he could be made of metal.
His facial features give of a somewhat cheeky attitude, to me he looks naughty, is it his side ways glance or the grimmaced smile? or the combo of both.

lela

Leela

Captain of the Starship on Futurama

I love Leela’s character because she is a kick ass take no prisoners one-eyed girl.
Why do I think her character works visually I think her face her expression is that of someone who is a little bit pissed off with everyone,or that her character is somewhat jaded, there are no rose-coloured glasses for her. I think her props are strong, a weapon and tricked up armband relates a don’t mess with me attitude.

Fantasia-disneyscreencaps_com-2535

Now here’s a harmless looking bunch, but I can remember being rather scared by them in my youth.The broomsticks that turned rampant in Disney’s Fantasia. When you consider them as characters they are pretty simple by design a stick with over-sized hands and their feet are the brushes of the broom…how clever I think the fact that they were multiplied also added to the  ability to menace … I mean why could you be frightened of a broomstick.

flying monkeys

Just like the poster says Freaking People out!!
We had to leave the theatre it was all too much, flying monkeys I added them because they made an impact but I can’t say that I like them I think that they look menacing also the role they played was rather nasty.

Take your Army to the Haunted Forest and bring me that girl and her dog! Do what you want with the others, but I want her alive and unharmed. They’ll give you no trouble I promise you that! I’ve sent a little insect on ahead to take the fight out of them. And keep special care to those Ruby Slippers, I want those most of all…now FLY, FLY, FLY! “―Wicked Witch of the West (1939)

original flying monkeys 1900

 

stewieStewie from Family guy
from a desgin point of view things that I notice, his eyes are upside down, there are only 3 colours + black and white going on, oversized head, looks a bit like a football actually.

“Stewie” Griffin is a main character from Family guy Obsessed with violence and matricide, Stewie is considered to be the show’s breakout character. Wizard Magazine rated him the 95th greatest villain of all time.

 

http://oz.wikia.com/wiki/Winged_Monkeys
http://www.cc.com/shows/futurama
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Disney%27s_Fantasia_characters
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stewie_Griffin
http://comicvine.gamespot.com/wizard-the-comics-magazine/4050-18692/

 

 

Leave a Reply

